Allegheny Observatory Bus Schedule

FALL TERM - 2017-2018 (2181) 

Please note: There are not bus trips every week and seating is limited weekly, so students in Astronomy 0088 and 0089, for whom the trips are TUESDAY and WEDNESDAY nights, should review the schedule carefully and sign up with their Teaching Assistant.

The following rules apply during Observatory trips:

  • Because of the limited number of seats on the bus, students must have a reservation to visit the Observatory on a particular evening. This is sometimes especially important near the end of the term.
  • Students must ride the bus to the Observatory; those driving on their own may not be allowed to enter the Observatory building.
  • Due to limited space at certain times during the term, students are not permitted to bring guests.
  • Food and drinks are not permitted in the Observatory; items can be left in backpacks on the bus at the students' own risk.
  • Students should dress properly. In particular, many parts of the Observatory are unheated, so students should be prepared for winter weather. For example, observing in an open dome is like observing outdoors.

AO BUS SCHEDULE for ASTRO 0086

Monday and Thursday:

Monday and Thursday
Monday, August 28, 2017- 7:00p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30p.m.
Monday, September 4, 2017 - No busses needed 
Thursday, September 7, 2017  - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, September 11, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 14, 2017 -7:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, September 25, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 28, 2017- 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, October 2, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - I 0:30 p.m.
Monday, October 9, 2017 - No busses needed
Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, October 16, 2017 - 7:00p.m. - 10:30 p.m. 
Thursday, October 19, 2017-7:00 p.m.-10:30 p.m.
Monday, October 23, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, October 30, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m. 
Monday, November 6, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - I 0:30 p.m.
Monday, November 13, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 16, 2017- 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, November 20, 2017-7:00 p.m. -10:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 23, 2017 - No busses needed
Monday, November 27, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, December 4, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 7, 207 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday, December 11, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 14, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
 
 

AO BUS SCHEDULE for ASTRO 0088 and 0089
Tuesday and Wednesday:

ASTRONOMY 0088 and 0089 include the requirement of an evening trip to the University of Pittsburgh's Allegheny Observatory in Riverview Park. Bus transportation to the Observatory is provided. A small portion of your grade in the course (to be announced by the instructor) will be based on making an Observatory trip. The ideal purpose of a trip is to permit students to observe astronomical objects through a telescope. However, in the event of cloudy weather, a tour of the building will be given and some of the science programs that have been or are being conducted at the Observatory will be discussed. During your trip to the Observatory you will receive a form to be initialed by the chaperone or TA organizing the visit that evening. Once the chaperone or TA initials your form, you should give it to your recitation TA along with a comment on what happened during your visit (e.g., what you may have observed through a telescope, what you may have seen in the Observatory building, or details of what you learned). Your recitation TA must have this form to give you credit for making the trip. If it was cloudy, and you are disappointed that you did not get an opportunity to observe through a telescope, you can make a reservation for another trip. Note that if you make a trip for one astronomy class, this does not exempt you from making a another visit for another astronomy class.

Students should make reservations with their recitation TA if they have one, or with their instructor if they do not. The dates and times for the current term can be seen by accessing the bus schedule. All buses depart from and return to the front of Allen Hall, which is up the hill at the end of Thackeray Street if you are standing by the intersection of Fifth and Thackeray at the Pitt book store. Note that, except for the last month of the term, departure times for buses generally change at the beginning of each month in order to adjust for the changing time of sunset

Tuesday and Wednesday
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - No busses needed
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - No busses needed
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - No busses needed
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 - No busses needed
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - No busses needed
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. 
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. 
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. FOR ASTRO 0086 (NOT 0088/0089)
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Reserved for Turnshek's AST 0088
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 24, 2017- 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday,November 8, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 - 6:30 - 9:30 p.m. 
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 - No busses needed
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. -9:30 p.m. 
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. 
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 - No busses needed
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 - No busses needed