Dr. Chandralekha Singh leads the US team at the 6th International Conference on Women in Physics (ICWIP)

(Shamima Choudhury, Malala Yousafzai, Chandralekha Singh) 


Chandralekha Singh was one of the two team leaders of the US delegation to the 6th International conference on Women in Physics (ICWIP) in Birmingham, UK, in July 2017. She is also a co-editor of the American Institute of Physics Proceedings for this ICWIP 2017 conference to be published in 2018. This picture of Dr. Singh is with Malala Yousafzai, a Nobel peace prize winner, who was a presenter at the conference and Shamima Choudhury, a Physicist from Bangladesh. 

It's up, up and away with a big balloon as the University of Pittsburgh Shadow Bandits practice for the Eclipse

March for Science

2017 Artists in Residence Program

The 2017 Artists in Residence Program was held at the Frick Fine Arts Center on April 4th, 2017. 


To read an article on the 2017 Artists in Residence Program on The Pitt News: Please Click Here!

PASGC Summer Research Scholarship

The Department of Physics and Astronomy has received funding from the Pennsylvania Space Grant Consortium to support undergrad research. 


Please click here for more information on how to apply.

Congratulations to Chandralekha Singh on receiving the 2017 University/Post- Secondary Educator Carnegie Science Center Award!

Congratulations to our Mellon Fellowship Awardees!

The department would like to congratulate Azarin Zarassi, Sumit Sarbadhicary and Xing Wang on receiving the 2017-2018 Mellow Fellowships!

Congratulations to Tae Min Hong on receiving the 2017 AKPA Outstanding Young Researcher Award

Congratulations to Tae Min Hong on receiving the 2017 AKPA Outstanding Young Researcher Award.

In order to recognize and promote excellence in research by outstanding young ethnic Korean Physicists in North America, the Outstanding Young Research Award (OYRA) has been awarded annually since 1994 by the Association of Korean Physicists in America (AKPA).